Melina Lewis is a Marketing and Communications specialist by day and Writer by night. She lives in Fish Hoek, Cape Town with her husband and two children.

“After you died…” is Melina’s first novel and is a fictional story she has been thinking about writing for many years. Melina’s career began in health sciences working in clinical research, and then as medical representative. Luckily, Melina found a healthcare communication agency and was afforded the opportunity to grow and develop her communications skills under the eye of some great strategic minds. After having children, Melina decided to move into the NGO sector and eventually became a consultant to a number different companies, across a variety of industry sectors. She has been working on creative copy one liners, translating medical copy to English, and developing lengthy strategies for many years. She enjoys writing the occasional blog and has amassed enough marketing knowledge to contribute towards several chapters of various Marketing Textbooks for South African colleges. Melina now consults to various businesses and is working on her teen series, which she is very excited to share with the world in 2019!

Synopsis of Melina's first book:
After you died...

For the lifelong friends jogging their regular morning route along the sleepy suburban streets of Fish Hoek, nothing could have warned them of what was to come. Trying to take a short cut and win favour with his taxi boss, a young driver Tshepo Dlamini slams into one of the runners. As Claire’s lifeless body lies crumpled on the ground, Tshepo finds himself trapped in a metal carcass, close to death himself.

Watching the accident happen, Maureen stands on her balcony and is the only witness. Yet she harbours another dark secret.  

For James, Claire’s adoring boyfriend, his life begins to unravel as he wakes to the news that Claire is dead, leaving him to question life as it was and will be. No longer the awesome foursome, childhood friends Tanya, Liz and Kate reframe their friendship without Claire. 

After you died… draws on the seven stages of grief, each chapter a journey from shock to acceptance. Set against the complex backdrop of small town South Africa, each person steps into a new reality and learns to forgive themselves and others. 

Available on Amazon Kindle, Loot
All good book stores in South Africa

Or contact Melina directly for your copy

Interviews and launches

Contact Me...

Melina Lewis



I would like to hear more from Melina. Sign me up to her newsletter (they are interesting and infrequent):